Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to do a valve adjustment on a 1995 Ducati E900 (USA) Cagiva Elefant 900 in Europe with 11380 kilometers. It's the same engine as the 900SS hence the reason for me posting here. This is my first time doing a valve adjustment on a Desmo engine and as you would expect have a couple of questions. I'd appreciate any feedback/suggestions, thank you in advance.

I am currently resurrecting the bike which I got in boxes from the grave and have never heard it run. I cleaned the carbs and tried to fire but it wouldn't go, it would back fire out of the carb which lead me to assume the timing was off. I checked the compression and the horizontal was at 115 psi and the vertical was at 135 psi. Upon checking the valve clearance discovered that it barely had any, the horizontal had .0015" on the opening but couldn't even slip a .001" on the closing. I checked the valve clearance with belts removed and tried loading the closing rocker using a flathead screw driver but it barely moved. I am certain I am at TDC on the compression stroke based on the timing mark on the sight glass, marks on belt pulleys, both valves closed and verifying the piston through the spark plug hole.

The specification on the frame sticker says: (in & ex) Opening: .10mm, Closing: .02mm
Haynes Manual
Intake opening: .05mm to .12mm, Intake closing: .03mm to .20mm
Exhaust opening: .05mm to .15mm, Exhaust closing: .03mm to .05mm

The questions I have are the following:

1. Would it be a good idea to start lapping/sanding the opening shims to create clearance or just order new shims?
2. Is it possible I am doing something wrong that is producing incorrect clearance numbers?
3. Anything else I should look out for aside from dropping a valve and having to fish it out?
4. With so many different valve specifications, which should I am for?

Again, thank you in advance.

John

·
Registered