Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a total newbie here, but want to replace tires on my first street bike, as the current metzlers are ancient. A place I found will sell a set of Bridgestones BT016s for $164, but not with a 170 rear, rather , a 180. I've read some old posts, but am looking for a definitive answer. Will the increased radius be somehow worse than the current giant turning circle? Will it work? rub something it shouldn't?

Also, Im looking to replace a very worn chain and sprockets. I'm really still learning to ride, and on a budget, so just looking to not throw a chain and put a hole in the case. I've seen chain/sprocket kits on eBay for cheap, and wondering how little I can spend and get something decent. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
151 Posts
I have the Michelin Pilot Power 180/55-17 rear on my '93. Theres not muth space to the fender but theres no rubbing. Havent run a 170 so cant tell you about the ride.

·
Registered
431 Posts
Hell no go the 180
180 has 5mm more on either side might not turn in as driectly but I doubt you will notice the difference

Im going a 190 on rear of my monster I wanted a 200 but it is too tight

·
Registered
351 Posts
Hello, I'm a total newbie here, but want to replace tires on my first street bike, as the current metzlers are ancient. A place I found will sell a set of Bridgestones BT016s for $164, but not with a 170 rear, rather , a 180. I've read some old posts, but am looking for a definitive answer. Will the increased radius be somehow worse than the current giant turning circle? Will it work? rub something it shouldn't?

Also, Im looking to replace a very worn chain and sprockets. I'm really still learning to ride, and on a budget, so just looking to not throw a chain and put a hole in the case. I've seen chain/sprocket kits on eBay for cheap, and wondering how little I can spend and get something decent. Thanks in advance!