Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Test drove a 2018 1200s today and wow what a bike. I am not an expert by any means but the bike was just fun to ride. When we sat to talk numbers I did get a bit of sticker shock .......17,500 is a little more than I wanted to spend but liked the single sided swingarm, grey color, and quick shifter.

Anyway, a little after I sat on an 821 and did not realize it had the same display now (last 821 I sat on was older) and the quickshifter can be added through Ducati. So my main question is if the 1200s is worth the 5 k more than a black 821 monster (no red for me)

I am 5'10 200 lbs and do not plan on any track days. I'm a pleasure/nice weather rider that has a lot of highway to get places and want something that's stable for 2 up riding as well. I know the 1200s would have more torque for that but is it psbyically more comfortable for 2 riders?

It seems the 5k difference for the 1200s gets me
- Single sided swing arm (LOVE IT)
- Quick shifter built standard ($300 ish add on for 821)
- Ohlins adjustable suspension (not sure if I really need this)
- Ducati wheelie control
- Ducati cornering abs
- +30 torque
- +40 hp

Any insight?

·
Registered
8,547 Posts
My only "insight" is that most of us think we need more HP than we actually do if we are street riders.

·
Registered
20 Posts
I mean, the 1200 is a better bike but do you need it? The suspension upgrade would be nice but I won't ever come close to maximum performance of my 821 on the street (don't plan on tracking) so for me the 821 is perfect

Sent from my Note 8 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Decision made.