Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All
Newbie here, whats the go on getting an 2011 - 1198sp up to or closer to an "R" spec in respect to engine performance. The bike has 70mm pipe, ecu chip and a few bits n bobs, but nothing on engine internals.
Am happy to give away a bit of the over-the-top midrange for a peakier higher hp top end.
Cheers

·
Registered
1,470 Posts
Well, I've read you can buy the 'R' engine internals for the SP for something like $4000 USD. I'm not sure if that includes installation, but I kinda doubt it does.

For anything other than racing though, I'm puzzled as to why you'd need the 'R' treatment ... The SP seems amusingly overpowered as it is on the street :cool:

In the long run, if you want titanium bits you are better off buying the Panigale - it already has titanium valves.

·
Registered
188 Posts
Hi All
Newbie here, whats the go on getting an 2011 - 1198sp up to or closer to an "R" spec in respect to engine performance. The bike has 70mm pipe, ecu chip and a few bits n bobs, but nothing on engine internals.
Am happy to give away a bit of the over-the-top midrange for a peakier higher hp top end.
Cheers
currently doing a top end rebuild on my R......trust me, it will cost way too much to do the job and not really worth it. an 1198sp just put out 172 hp on our local dynojet dyno :cool: yes the R's are doing a bit more but not worth the extra dosh you'd spend.

hopefully mine will be done this week, i'll let you know what the hp is compared to the sp..

·
Registered
279 Posts
currently doing a top end rebuild on my R......trust me, it will cost way too much to do the job and not really worth it. an 1198sp just put out 172 hp on our local dynojet dyno :cool: yes the R's are doing a bit more but not worth the extra dosh you'd spend.

hopefully mine will be done this week, i'll let you know what the hp is compared to the sp..