Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Over the last few weeks I have been stopping at Fast by Ferracci's and drooling over the 1198's in stock. My last bike was a 2001 996 that I sold about four years ago. Since then I havent been riding except for taking my friends GSXR 600 around the block occasionaly.

I started riding when I was 18 (am now 32) and was wondering if buying a 1098/1198 would be a wise choice with several years hiatus.

any thoughts?

Thanks
eunos4

·
Registered
275 Posts
What do you think ? Take a Rider Course.....Hit a (some:D) track day (s).

Look @ my signature :eek:

·
Registered
2,483 Posts
You will be fine.

Just take it easy at first to re-learn exactly what it's like to ride a superbike. It takes a bit to get one's skills back.

In my experience it is not like riding bicycle. ;)

·
Still needs a life.
12,619 Posts
Some very experienced riders went down on their new 1098's when they inadvertently locked up its very sensitive and very powerful front brake. I would learn from their experiences and get back on the road with a more forgiving model before moving to the 1098.

·
The days are getting longer!
8,278 Posts
4 years absence is not that long, take a rider course, go slow at first and be safe.

·
Super Moderator
8,222 Posts
Take a refresher course and get the bike you want. If you have that many years of riding, you will be able to handle the power if you use your head.

I´ll agree with the "powerful brakes" comment above. They are VERY good, so just be careful and try them out incl. harder and harder braking drills until you get the feel for them.
The power is also very deceptive, especially if your running the stock exhaust. Dont get cocky until you have had some seattime. The 1098 is very forgiving until it bites back, but it can bite very hard unless respected.

//amullo

·
Registered
268 Posts
Your first step should be to walk away from FBF.

·