Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

I am fairly new to my Duc, but I am having a problem. When I come to a stop my Duc stalls. It almost seems like the rpms are set too low. Being it is a ECU controlled fuel injection set-up I am surprised by the problem. It almost seems like there is a TPS problem or something to that effect. Does anyone out there have any suggestion of any common issues that can cause this that I can start with?

I have spent the past decade and a half as a Factory Trained Automotive Technician. I have over $65k US invested in tools in my shop. I am trying to avoid hitting the Dealership for something minor. As a Tech it pains me to through away money on a problem I may be able to fix myself. I own the Factory Service and Repair Manual for the bike.

I LOVE my bike, but this is starting to become annoying as well as embarrassing!

Thanks for any help you all can give.

·
Premium Member
1,059 Posts
First thing is to get LT's manual for the quatro engines... http://www.desmotimes.com/ Lots of good instructions and garage-floor hints.

My 999S suffered from the same thing. I reset the valves, reset the TPS, sync'd the TB's, set the CO levels at 3% and the problem resolved by about 1/2 with the idle set at 1200 rpm. I didn't want a higher idle so I got a PC III usb and remapped the the bottom end and the rest of the issue disappeared. I reset the idle down to 1100 RPM and it's still good.

Just my own personal experience....

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
mine does the same thing. i went to the stealership and the guy gave me some bs about one of the valves guides must be leaking or something. but if i hold it at like 1200 rpm it is fine when i pull in the clutch. i asked the tech to just bump the idle up, but he says its not that simple.
i have a pc3 on my 749, what can i do to the map to help?

·
Registered
34 Posts