Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for some opinions… so I know I’ll get some here! 😂

I’m either turning my 900ss into a track bike for next year, or I can grab a 748 pretty cheap because the plastics are wrecked, and turn that one.

I’m leaning towards the 748…but would love some opinions or experience from you guys.

Thanks

·
Registered
Ducati 748, Aprilia Tuono, Yamaha R3
11 Posts
My opinion means nothing since I'm new to the Ducati world, but I'd vote 748. The ergos are already pretty spot on for a track bike and the bike handles itself well for its weight. Plus if you can get it cheap, you might not feel as bad laying it down and push the envelope a little more?

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I had a Ducati service guy tell me today that running the 900 would be way cheaper and easier to maintain and fix.
The 748 would be more costly and a pain to maintain and service myself.

Thoughts?

·
Premium Member
1997 748
233 Posts
Well the 748 hasn’t been costly or a pain yet for me. For a fuel injected bike I’m not sure how it could be much simpler really. But I think your source is worried about the wrong stuff. You are talking about taking an old Italian motorcycle on the track. Who cares about cost, trouble and all that crap? Get the one that makes you feel more like a badass and screw all that reasonable BS.

·
Premium Member
992 Posts
Only one is a “race replica”, your tech isn’t wrong about it having more parts, I would say your choice is easy/simpler vs more focused design. No wrong answer, know people who have loved both on the track

·
Registered
1994 900SS CR, 2002 998 Trackbike
442 Posts