Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
New to the forum. Hope I'm doing this correctly.

I've been riding for over 40 years. My first bike was a 1970 Ducati 450 scrambler. Last time I had a Duc.
I have the opportunity to purchase a 2001 748 with 2300 miles on it. It was originally serviced by TT Motorcycles in Massachusetts I think. A military person bought it from them off of Ebay this past Jan. It sat for awhile as he was overseas. When he returned he got a deal on a later 749 and sold it to the current owner who put 500 miles on it and decided his frame doesn't fit it anymore. He replaced the fluids, put in Mobil 1 and replaced the battery. The bike looks great in the pictures. He is selling it for $5300.

I also have a Suzuki Bandit 1200s 01 model. I ride year round and most of it is commuting. I would really like to have a 1098 but will be awhile before I can afford that.
I've wanted another Duc for a long time.
I've heard of the flaking rocker issue and it hasn't had the 6k service yet. I do most of my own wrenching.

Can I expect the 748 to have costly maintenance and how reliable is it?

Sorry for the long thread just trying to paint a picture.

Thanks,

·
Registered
141 Posts
Hi, I'm looking to get a 748 too. There is tons of info here. Do some searches. The people here are really knowledgeable. There is a section here called the Hall of Wisdom. There is a thread in there that you should reed, it's called: Buying a used Ducati Superbike.

From what I've seen here so far, the price that he is asking is a little high. As you'll read here, you need to find out about the service history. Even though the bike has relatively low miles, it still has age going against it.

Other people here know WAY more about it than I do, just read the threads and good luck!

·
Registered
1,023 Posts