Changing the 2019 Hypermotard's rear tire - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum
  • 1 Post By 1198SP

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old May 21st, 2019, 7:36 am Thread Starter

Changing the 2019 Hypermotard's rear tire

Saw the cords on my rear tire at 1900 miles, so it was time for new rubber.

You will need a 46mm socket to remove the rear wheel.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Used my no-mar tire changer to easily remove the old tire and put on a new Dunlop Q3+

https://www.nomartirechanger.com/

https://www.bikebandit.com/tires-tub...3-tire/p/57138

This is the first time I ever changed the tire on this bike or on a single sided swingarm bike. Cool that there are no bearings on the rear wheel hub.

I have some questions for those experienced with this job.

How do you use a standard wheel balancer with this wheel? The Tusk stand I use does not have cones large enogh to fit the very large wheel hub opening on the hyper's wheel.

https://www.amazon.com/Tusk-Motorcyc.../dp/B003QT26D6

I had a real hard time seating the bead of these tires on this wheel. Ended up having to spray some food grade dry silicon on a small section of the bead to finally get it to pop into place, and that was with 60psi! The no mar lube was not enough.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old May 21st, 2019, 7:41 am Thread Starter

Found this thread: https://www.ducati.ms/forums/92-hype...ng-wheels.html

Large cones needed for balancing.

https://www.nomartirechanger.com/Lar...largecones.htm

$ 50 for a set of large rear cones from Marc Parnes

http://www.marcparnes.com/Ducati_Mot...ancer.htm#DU42

I am kind of inclined to just not bothering to balance the rear wheel at all. I know many don't balance the rear wheel with no noticeable effect.

Last edited by Pard; May 21st, 2019 at 7:50 am.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old May 22nd, 2019, 6:59 am

Garage