7 year itch - Refresh n rebuild project - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum
  • 1 Post By jimmyjojo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Jun 23rd, 2019, 10:53 pm Thread Starter

7 year itch - Refresh n rebuild project

Howdy All,

My how time flies, looking back over my posts here it's almost 7 years to the day that I brought my '93 900SS home!

They say owning a Ducati makes you a better mechanic, and for me its true... but its a journey that I have thoroughly enjoyed over the years ( a few frustrations here n there) but combined with this forums knowledge (I'm more of a lurker than a poster) I have learnt a lot and enjoyed developing my mechanical understanding, from near total noob graduating to not entirely incompetent!

As the bike is getting close to 3 decades, I have been wanting to do a tear down and rebuild for a while, as much to keep learning as for the personal challenge. With my first baby on the way shortly, the reality is my riding time is going to be greatly diminished, and after talking with my wife we agreed on the idea that having a "me project" in the garage will be a good thing.

This is also good timing as the belts need doing, and the valves, the FCR's are probably due a breakdown and clean + a smattering of other things, and registration is also due any day now which i can avoid with a rebuild and rego at a later date.

The objective:
My main aim is to get the bike cleaned up and restored to a near newish condition, with a few choice modifications. I'm hoping to avoid mission creep, and am not attempting to make the fastest bestest lightest SS... just nice Italian gal who's up for the odd mountain canter on a sunny Sunday.

Rebuilding the brake callipers, getting the forks rebuilt/resprung, maybe splash out on a Ohlins at the back, paint the frame, get the loom looked at, maybe a fancy swing arm or light wheels if the budget affords... a few choice parts here n there.

Initial Questions: