1991 900ss engine Vin # - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old May 11th, 2019, 12:38 pm Thread Starter

Garage
1991 900ss engine Vin #

Hi everyone I am new to the Ducati world, I am and have been a BMW person for a very long time I own a shop here in Florida and do service and restorations on all BMW motorcycles from 1923-current models. But Ducati is a new thing for me. I just purchased a 1991 900ss for me to ride and enjoy, This bike has not been run in a long time but I done a full service & replaced timing belts to get it ready to ride. I with BMW's have always been a detail person and it has to be absolutely correct for that model & that year. This 900ss is a very early bike it is Vin # 28 this was not a bike that was imported to the U.S. but it was brought here in 2003 by a military person who purchased it from the original owner who worked for Ducati. In looking this bike over I have noticed that there is no engine number stamped on the engine, I do know that the engine has never been replaced and it is original to this bike, Have any of you guys out there ever seen one that was not stamped the boss is totally blank this is just odd to me but then the Italians dont keep records like Herman the German. maybe I am over thinking this but I'm just curious. Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old May 11th, 2019, 2:58 pm

Garage
All bikes imported here would have had a engine and frame VIN, when you are talking about bring backs from military I have no idea what the process would be. I can add a couple things.

1. Ducati / Cagiva would not be above slightly shady things back in the day as it was run like a typical small business and not some corporate machine ( I miss those days). I know of euro spec test bikes that never left this country and a "test " bike may not be technically sold as a street bike but I would not say it is impossible that one was.