$8k, Starter, I Don't Get It . . . - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old Mar 2nd, 2008, 9:50 pm Thread Starter

$8k, Starter, I Don't Get It . . .

I was reading the thread - $8k for a '007 800SS a good deal or not - and again there is all this speak of this bike being such a great 'starter' bike. I'm just not getting it. I've been riding motorcycles for over 30 years (rode before I drove, so keep the old-man jokes to a minimum) and I bought a 2006 800SS.

I ride not only with other Ducatisti, but a Busa AND a ZX-14 almost every weekend (in the summer-time, anyway - snow sucks!). I can't remember one time when they had to wait up for me. Not at all ! ! !

I think the only bike I'd rather have right now might be the 848. But, that didn't exist when I bought mine almost two years ago.

Now, I've ridden the Busa and some other liter bikes and that extra power IS nice to have. But, since I'm not on the track, and I'm not specifically into seeing just how fast I can go in a straight line, I've got to say, I love my bike and like I said, excepting the 848, there's nothing else I'd rather ride - period!

Call me a wimp but that's my take and I'm sticking to it.

'06 Supersport i.e.
Desmodue 800
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old Mar 2nd, 2008, 9:54 pm

No arguments from me! I agree that it is "enough" power. But there is the world of superbikes out there and the japanese companies don't distinguish superbike from supersport very well. Their supersport IS their superbike. So I think some of us who eventually want to ride around on a superbike, feel the supersport is the perfect stepping stone.

I completely see your point though and it is a good one! Very valid!
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old Mar 2nd, 2008, 10:22 pm