996/1098/SSR side stand comparisons - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old Jun 17th, 2019, 9:51 am Thread Starter

Garage
Post 996/1098/SSR side stand comparisons

I, like a lot of 916 era Superbike owners, felt nervous with the crazy lean angle on the stock side stand. Here is a comparison of the stock 996 side stand to the 1098 era, and the SSR side stand. I have no experience with any of other SSR style stands but I imagine they are all the same length. Hope this helps someone else trying to alleviate the sketchy lean. As far as I know my ride height is stock. I have been told you can change the lean angle by adjusting ride height but I don't feel comfortable making those changes. YMMV.

These measurements were made in my garage. I used the angle finder on my iPhone. On the swing arm stand it read 0 degrees.

All measurements were made on my 2000 996 Biposto. Each side stand was a direct bolt on and no additional or different brackets were needed.

The stock 996 side stand had a lean angle of -13 degrees
The stock 1098 side stand had a lean angle of -10 degrees
The SSR side stand had a lean angle of only -6 degrees

I can tell you when I switched from the SSR to the 1098 it felt fine letting the bike down off the swing arm stand onto the side stand. When I went from the 1098 to the 996 however, I honestly thought I forgot to put the side stand down before taking it off the swing arm stand and stopped to make sure it was indeed down.

I now feel way more confident in the ability of my side stand to keep the bike upright.

Attached are some images of the angles and the stands themselves for comparison.

Thanks,
A.W.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sidestands-03.png
Views:	76
Size:	605.6 KB
ID:	946159   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sidestands-02.png
Views:	65
Size:	588.9 KB
ID:	946161   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sidestands-01.png
Views:	64