Winter 916 revival - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 49 (permalink) Old Nov 5th, 2018, 4:16 pm Thread Starter

Winter 916 revival

Hey forum,

I picked up a 1997 916 from ducati.ms forum member spitfire1776 on Saturday (made the 14 hour round trip in one day!). The bike has been sitting in a climate controlled storage for 7-8 years now, but has been started and run periodically (I am not sure how many times, but it was at least run once last year).

I'm no mechanic, but I try to do my own work, so I'll be trying to do all of the work necessary to restore this bike to tip-top shape, with the goal of taking it to some track days next year. After that, I'm not sure, I might try to sell it and buy a newer bike, or I may fall in love with the 916 as many others have and just keep it.

Here's what I know it needs:
-Heavy duty cleaning (the bike is pretty filthy right now). This probably means taking apart and cleaning the swingarm pivot axle and steering head bearing, and rear wheel axle (I've read about some bushing that can come loose and cause damage)...
-New brake lines, clutch lines
-Timing belts replaced (according to seller they have about 3k miles on them, but they are almost 10 years old now)
-Instrument lenses are all cracked and hard to read (might try to cut the lenses and replace with something... no clear plan yet)
-Tank fell off a trailer at some point and has some gnarly scratches on it. May repaint?
-Standard maintenance: Oil filter (and oil)/Fuel filter/Battery/Chain/sprockets (I plan to go 15/39)/Tires

The previous owner upgraded the rectifier and claims to have had no problems with electrical systems. I will probably want to put LED headlights in, not only for their lower power draw but also for the greater visibility.

I've also been told the rocker arms were replaced with some that do not have the chrome flaking problems, so I should be good in that area.