Sounds like it's not going to start...then does - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old Aug 17th, 2019, 4:45 pm Thread Starter

Arrow Sounds like it's not going to start...then does

So I'm new to Ducati and my MS (500 mi) plus another 400 mi on a demo '18. I'm not new to riding...average 35 yrs exp. And I'm not new to big twins...had a RC51 when they first came out.

Every time I hit the starter button I swear it's not going to start. There's a pause, a long chug, another chug, and then "It's Alive!!!". << [Name the movie for bonus points that you can't spend anywhere for anything].

The behavior is the same on my new one and the '18 demo. I presume it's normal for the model. But does anyone else have that ugly feeling in the back of your brain that she's not gonna start. Thoughts on how to get used to it? What's the real story on when the battery is about to go iti's [reverse the i's and the t's] up? I typically have my bikes on tenders throughout the year, so she's topped off.

Thanks
John

2019 Ducati Multistrada S Touring
2014 BMW S1000RR
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old Aug 17th, 2019, 5:10 pm

Check batt cables. I'd start with the ground cable and it's connections.

On the other hand, my stepdad and I had matching 1985 Harley FXRs, both brand new. Both bikes would do pretty much the same thing you've described, but they ALWAYS started up.