New To Me Monster S4 - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum
  • 1 Post By duc96cr

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old May 8th, 2019, 10:41 am Thread Starter

New To Me Monster S4

Picked up a 2001 S4 over the weekend and already put 100 miles on it.
Totally stock, one owner bike. under 10k miles.

Had a 750 Monster many years ago, and it is nice to be back on one again.
Spent most of my time focused on vintage stuff, although at this point 2001 is fairly vintage....

Im an Engineer now and in a former life I was a mechanic. I know my way around a wrench, and enjoy working/servicing my stuff.

No plans for big mods.

-Bike needs a service so I am collecting the proper tools and parts for that. Was some aftermarket belts, so am currently researching those.
-Will need to do a valve adjustment
-Got a single black key, and a code card....no red key. Looking at options to make a few clones of the black key.
-Want to get a set of heated grips with a small/slim switch
-On the hunt for a cell phone (for nav) mount that works with the factory bars
-Plan to have the suspension serviced and set up for me. I have never done this, but looking forward to tailoring a bike to me and my riding.
-Im sure I will add a few carbon items.
-Unsure about slip ons. I love the sound, but dont know if they will be a bit "too much" for the neighbors and riding.

Would love some insight and discussion.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old May 8th, 2019, 8:15 pm
Prolific Poster Award