Monster 1200 can't rev past 7.500 rpm at full throttle - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Oct 1st, 2017, 12:28 pm Thread Starter

Monster 1200 can't rev past 7.500 rpm at full throttle

Hi all, I'm new to Ducati and new this forum. Found this forum when I am searching for solution regarding my bike.

Bought a used 6 month old Monster 1200 base (2014 model) at 750 km. Now my bike already has 5.000 km, accelerator position sensor is already replaced (will tell about it another time), and I have problem.

First my bike can't rev past 8.500 rpm at full throttle. The bike will hesitate and as if the bike hit a soft limiter at around full throttle at 8.500 rpm in 3rd and 4th gear (never tried 5th and 6th). If i reduce the throttle a little, maybe like give it 80-90% throttle, the bike will rev to the limiter. If I give it like 80-90% throttle, and then after i reach 9.500 rpm, then give it 100% throttle, the bike will hesitate again and the rpm will drop slowly.

I brought it to Ducati and after Ducati check the bike, Ducati said a broken rpm sensor, clogged fuel pump filter, and injector need service because there is too much rust and water in my fuel tank. After the rpm sensor is replaced, the fuel filter and tank cleaned, and the injector serviced, Ducati test my bike on dyno. Bike revs fine until limiter (I don't know at full throttle or partial throttle).

Took back the bike from ducati saturday, and I tested the bike this sunday. Now the bike can't rev past 7.500 rpm at full throttle in 3rd and 4th gear. Same problem, can't rev past 7.500 rpm at full throttle, but if I reduce the throttle, the rpm will increase. The exhaust valve is not stucked (already checked and removed the cable).

Never tried to do it at 1st and 2nd gear because I'm affraid I'll wheelie the bike, never tried at 5th and 6th gear because at that gear, the bike will be too fast.