Changed the map in my 749 - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old Apr 4th, 2019, 1:37 pm Thread Starter
Just visiting your planet.

Garage
Changed the map in my 749

OK. I was going to wait until next week to do the map swap, but I couldn't wait. With the help of @Punch , I've been evaluating maps for my 2003 749s and learning a few things.

It would appear that somewhere along the line, the map in my bike was altered. No big surprise. I've never known the history of the bike and it was in rough shape when I rescued it. It always ran, but I could feel a flat spot around 4-7k rpm. I knew something wasn't quite right, but wasn't ready to do anything about it until now. So, I was able to find both a stock map and a modified DP map thanks to the members of this forum posting them or pointing me in the right direction.

I loaded the stock map for now. As best as I can tell, the only mods to my bike are the Termi half-system. The first thing I noticed was a drop in idle speed with the stock map. My map's RPM table started at 1000, but the stock map starts at 900. Not exactly sure what was going on there. The other thing I noticed right away is things are running a lot richer. I could smell it. Maybe I need to check the CO? Strange that the stock map would be richer than what was there.

I also reset the TPS before heading out for my shakedown run, as required. My old map TPS table started at 2.11 and I've always seen things say the setting should be 2.3 at full closed. The stock map starts at 1.4 and IAWDiag reset the TPS to 1.4. So, is this a European setting? Does it even matter since the stock map starts at 1.4 which is what the TPS is now set to? The bike felt pretty good on my test ride. No off idle stumble.

So many more questions, but they'll have to wait until I put some more miles on it and get a better feeling for the changes. I think I've opened a can of worms.

2005 ST3
2003 749s