Weight loss or suspension upgrade - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum
  • 1 Post By Monster4Lee

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old Aug 13th, 2019, 2:26 pm Thread Starter
Banned

Weight loss or suspension upgrade

Hey everyone. There is so much plethora of info on suspension tuning for bikes. I'm still new to this, but doing my best to learn as much as possible.

A few weeks ago, I took my bike to Dave Moss. It was a great price for him to setup the the suspension here in SF. Long story short, Dave mentioned that he had to set the shock almost at the end because of my heavy weight (220lbs). Mind you, this guy is amazing, he literally pin-pointed my weight and height instantly just by looking at me. Additionally, he told me to set the PSI on my tires between 35-40psi--for road.

I am actually in the process of losing weight and have dropped 15lbs in the past 2 months on keto. I am still gunning on losing this weight I gained during marriage and a baby (no, my wife had the baby). It's crazy to me that Dave said, "You can either upgrade the spring for your weight OR you can get on a weight loss program and save money." This is insane because it made me realize how many guys (and gals) opted to upgrade the spring instead of losing weight.

Have any of you dealt with this issue before? Apparently, Dave said my weight also 'saved my life' because my weight dropped the bike when I hit bumps or potholes. If I was skinnier with the factory settings, he said I would've came off my seat in that scenario.

For you that lose weight, how often do you change the settings on your bikes?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old Aug 13th, 2019, 2:36 pm

Garage