tires..... which ones?? - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 26th, 2019, 4:29 pm Thread Starter

Garage
tires..... which ones??

Greetings, its almost time to get the GT back on the road after a long rest. I am open to all suggestions as to what kind of tires to put on the bike now.
Is it ok to run tubeless with a tube? Thank You for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 27th, 2019, 2:00 am

Right, here is my advice FWIW. I've been running bevels for 45 years and do you know what mod has made the biggest improvement in all that time? Fitting radial tyres. Every time that I go out on my bevel I am amazed at the way the tyres have transformed it - the way that it rolls over on corners, the way that it slices through the corners and the difference in smoothness over the road surface, due to the flex of radials.

The tyres are Conti Klassic Attack, and are a bit dearer than other brands, but are supposed to last longer. I wouldn't use anything else. Tubeless are fine with tubes. BTW, you say GT? So GT750? Stick with the standard sizes of 90/90 front and 100/90 rear, because the rims are too narrow for wider tyres. I know that some people fit them, but the tyre is then squeezed up and gives a contact patch that is no wider, plus the bigger tyres are heavier.

Ducati GT1000, Ducati 900S2 Bevel
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 28th, 2019, 3:04 pm Thread Starter

Garage
Thank you Duccout, i checked the conti site. they do not show a 90/90-19 frt tire. they do show a 100/90-19. do you know if it will clear the fender stays?
after reading your comments re the conti's, i'm really looking forward to the first long ride. thank you for your input.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2019, 3:04 am