Quick question about red key replacement - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old Jul 14th, 2008, 5:11 pm Thread Starter

Quick question about red key replacement

I have a chance to pick up a Ducati Monster pretty cheap that has one black key, no red key and being a Duc owner I understand the severity of that one ignorant engineering feat by Ducati tied to the red and the ignition (and yes, I am an engineer).

I believe I read on here somewhere that there is now someone making an over-ride key so that one doesn't have to buy the $2000 worth of guages and electrics.

Any help would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old Jul 14th, 2008, 5:24 pm

You might be thinking of this post https://www.ducati.ms/forums/showthread.php?t=40653 which had information about getting replacement black keys.
Bill W.

2005 Ducati ST3, Black
2007 Ducati MTS 1100S, Black
Rantoul, IL
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old Jul 14th, 2008, 5:37 pm Thread Starter

Thanks. I just called and he charges $55 for two keys...but

Quote:
Originally Posted by ducsbill View Post
You might be thinking of this post https://www.ducati.ms/forums/showthread.php?t=40653 which had information about getting replacement black keys.
Bill W.
But I also read somewhere that someone is now making an over-ride for the red key based on your black key. Supposed to have been on Ebay and was like $500 guaranteed to work.
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old Jul 14th, 2008, 6:23 pm

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBrutale View Post
But I also read somewhere that someone is now making an over-ride for the red key based on your black key. Supposed to have been on Ebay and was like $500 guaranteed to work.