Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

"Sissy bar"?

10K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  GTRossi 
#1 ·
Hi all, im new to street bikes and my first is a Ducati GT1000. My wife and I went to go look at bikes for a change (Craigs list wasn't going to convince her) and we ended up with the demo bike so it has a nice comfy seat and the upgraded exhaust at a slightly discounted price. My question is I guess is if anyone knows if there is a sissy bar or some type of back rest for a passenger? Not something I would keep on the bike but perhaps something that could be removed when I wanted to ride myself vs. me and her.. sorry about the wall of text im just very excited about this purchase and damn.. this bike is just friggin awesome. TY for any replies!

#9 ·
Hmm, I wonder if this means that they are going to come out with something for the Sport sometime soon. It would be nice to have some options.

#4 ·
#7 ·
Ventura system

Check out the Ventura luggage rack system. You can buy the ultra basic which gives you a grab rail, and there also rack and bag options. Very modular and very well-made. I can probably get some photos of mine posted this weekend. In the meantime, check out ventura-bike.com

The NA distributor is in Lynwood, WA, go see cycleventure.com

#8 ·
Nothing specific here but a tail trunk with a back pad mounted on a luggage rack is a popular option on other bikes. They are usually easily removed and the extra space may be appreciated by the wife. Check out Givi.

#10 ·
My wife is also quite uncomfortable on any bike without a backrest and Corbin doesn't offer a seat for the carb'ed 900ss bikes with the backrest receptacle option. (In our case we also have a Corbin saddle, but anyone who has ever spent more than about 30 minutes on a stock 900ss seat will know why.)

I ordered a Ventura rack and welded a section of short square tube to act as a backrest receptacle.