BiPosto rear fender on GT1000... - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum
http://www.ducati.ms/forums
» Sponsors
» Insurance
Go Back   Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum > Ducati Motorcycle Forums > Sport Classic

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 11th, 2007, 8:27 am   #1 (permalink)

BiPosto rear fender on GT1000...

Hello Everybody,
Old newbie here considering purchase of a GT1000. I have been lurking on this great site for a while now and have kicked some tires at a local Duc dealer and am interested in the GT. As many others have commented, I am not enamored with the aesthetic of the rear fender on the GT as beautiful as the motorcycle is. By contrast the Biposto which to my eye is proportioned beautifully, has unliveable ergos for this old motorcyclist. I prefer the more forward foot pegs and higher standard handlebars on the GT. I also don't need the cafe style cowl in back...kind of like the retro standard ironing board seat. So...how does one surmount this dilemma? One option is to change out the foot controls and handlebars on the Biposto. I believe that option is expensive. The other is...remove the rear fender and install the Bioposto rear fender. There inlies my question please to those that have studied this as there has been much comment about the rear fender gap. Many if not all sport bikes and standards without swing arm mounted fenders have a substantial gap between fender and rear tire due to desired ride height and suspension travel. The execution of shape, proportion and scale is what differentiates a successful look from one that has elicited comments as with the GT. To me the most elegant solution is to install a Biposto rear fender on a GT. This doesn't change the gap of course but changes the shape of the rear fender to not describing the same arc as the rear tire and at least to my eye makes it much more appealing.