Should I get an '09 848 or '09 zx6r? - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum
http://www.ducati.ms/forums
» Sponsors
» Insurance
Go Back   Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum > Ducati Motorcycle Forums > Superbikes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 14th, 2009, 3:17 am   #1 (permalink)

Red face Should I get an '09 848 or '09 zx6r?

As soon as you're done being appalled by comparison in the question, I have two concerns. I've been riding my bosses CBR 600rr for the past 3 months and before that I bought a 250 to learn on first and it's been a year. So now I want to buy a larger bike now and it's either the new zx6r that's getting pretty good reviews or it's the 848 which I've been dreaming about for a year now LOL

I work right across the Beverly Hills Ducati shop and I walk in all the time just to look So I really really want the 848. The only thing that's holding be back on making a decision for it is the weight of the bike. How does it hold up on road trips for instance? I rode my 250 to vegas and while it lost power during the raised elevation (it's not fuel injected) I had trouble on the way back home because I was hit with high speed winds and was almost blown into the guard rail, the bike weighs 330 lbs.). So I know the 848 weighs 370 I think and I'm wondering if that's enough to keep me planted if I ever run into a problem like high speed winds again. The zx6r is about 440 and I did like the weight of the CBR (which was about the same).

So I do plan on going to the track with the new bike, but riding up and down the coast of Cali is definitely on my itinerary, more so than going to the track, I want to ride it all over the place. So I just want to know if the 848 would be better suited for someone who's mostly going to only use it at the track...?

Thanks for your input guys, I appreciate it.
DeftJester is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old Apr 14th, 2009, 3:28 am   #2 (permalink)