» Site Navigation |
|
»
»
»
» Motorcycle Forums
|
» Buyers Guide |
|
|
» Our Partners |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
Jan 25th, 2006, 4:58 pm
|
#1 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,267
|
eBay Frauds
Over the last week or so, there has been an increase of fraudulent superbike listings on eBay .... the signs are obvious to most, the most obvious being ridiculously low buy-it-now prices... like this one:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Ducat...07785428QQrdZ1
Another sign would be that the seller is asking to be contacted privately instead of the usual eBay " ask the seller" link...
If you come accross a fraudulent auction, just report it to eBay and they are usually quick to remove the auction.
Here is the link to report the frauds (make sure you have the item number of the auction handy - that is found at the top right-hand corner of each auction):
http://pages.ebay.com/help/contact_u...e/index_6.html
- Select "Fraud Concerns for Buyers"
- then Select "Report a listing that you think is faudulent"
- click 'continue'
- then click on "e-mail us"
- Enter the item number on the field provided
__________________
'04 749R
|
|
|
|
Sponsored Links
|
Advertisement
|
|
Jan 25th, 2006, 5:17 pm
|
#2 (permalink)
|
|
Guest
|
i saw those auctions earlier....anyone who thinks they're going to get a 999 for $2,800 is pretty stupid
|
|
|
|
Jan 25th, 2006, 5:43 pm
|
#3 (permalink)
|
|
Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 5,349
|
Just had it happen to me last week with recent ad of mine.
http://www.ducati.ms/forums/showthread.php?t=1950
__________________
Scott
Sacramento CA
HDDC Posse
'05 BMW LT-C Ocean Blue
'03 Ducati ST4S with ABS
'08 BMW F800ST (Jessica's)
Some of the most asinine things people do are typically preceded by the two words "Watch this."
|
|
|
Jan 25th, 2006, 7:00 pm
|
#4 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 230
|
They usually want you to "pre-qualify" in order to bid. In other words they want your credit card number. Can you guess why?
__________________
Rob G.
'05 ST3 (red)
"Don't let your Karma run over your Dogma."
|
|
|
Jan 26th, 2006, 3:40 am
|
#5 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 16
|
You know what though... As much as I hate the bastards who try and swindle others on eBay, you really have to ask yourself... "what in gods name were some of those people who got taken for a ride thinking?".... I mean, did they really think they were going to get an 05 999 for $4000 shipped FREE VIA AIR from europe, or another one I remember seeing was a $3000 buy it now auction for a lot of THREE "almost brand new" monsters a "retired cop" was selling... COME ON! Who are these people bidding on this stuff? They're just as much to blame... But then again, what was that saying again.... "There's a sucker born every minute...." ???
|
|
|
Jan 26th, 2006, 11:49 am
|
#6 (permalink)
|
|
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dallas, TX, US of A
Posts: 5,215
|
I just responded.....
I contacted them and gave them SCOTT's credit card number!!!!
HA!
__________________
Wild Bill in DFW, TX
2001 900 SSie

Moderation in moderation.
|
|
|
Jan 26th, 2006, 1:22 pm
|
#7 (permalink)
|
|
Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 5,349
|
I have registered my card numbers with Google so everyone can just get them with a simple search
__________________
Scott
Sacramento CA
HDDC Posse
'05 BMW LT-C Ocean Blue
'03 Ducati ST4S with ABS
'08 BMW F800ST (Jessica's)
Some of the most asinine things people do are typically preceded by the two words "Watch this."
|
|
|
Jan 26th, 2006, 1:27 pm
|
#8 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bristol, , UK
Posts: 21
|
I recieved this the otherday on ebay for a bike I was selling, Looks pretty dodgy to me, and get this the guy wasnt even registered on ebay, or at least thats what it said next to his name.
Here it is:
"Dear Seller,
I am interested in buying your item for my client.After several consideration over the advert placed my client has really shown interest in it and would really want to issue the payment for your buy it now price in form of cheque. Will you be accepting a cheque?
According to my client the cheque that will be drawn by him would include the cost for the item, shipping of this item to my client and my commission would be included on the same money order/cashier check because of time constraint.
We shall solely be responsible for the shipping of the item, i mean arrange for pick up from you when the cheque CLEARS.
Provide your CONTACT NAME,ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER if you are interested in selling so that I can have it forwarded to my client for immediate payment issuance.
Please contact me asap via email for futher questions as regards this transaction.
Thank You.
Pamela Bryan."
|
|
|
Jan 26th, 2006, 2:19 pm
|
#9 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hwy. 9 Boulder Creek, CA, USA
Posts: 264
|
This exact thing has been going on with boats too.
I'm on a boat owner's forum for a particular brand of ski boats and one guy posts a link to an ebay auction for a boat. Right away, another guy on the forum says "hey, that looks like so-and-so's boat".
So-and-so gets on and says "yeah, that's my boat". The dude stole the guys pics. and description from another website. The guy had the same story, wanted you pre-approved, he was a non-registered user, boat was practically brand new, Oh, and by the way, the boat was in Greece.
So-and-so's wife works with a bunch of lawyers and they started contacting him acting like they were interested. Should be fun.
|
|
|
Jan 26th, 2006, 3:03 pm
|
#10 (permalink)
|
|
The Ducati.ms Weasel
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Roseville, Kellyfornia, USA
Posts: 1,187
|
If you choose to pursue this (and make no mistake, it smells like a scam), do a couple of things to safeguard yourself. First, deposit the cheque in an account all by itself and don't touch the money right away. Second, inform the bank that you suspect the check may be counterfeit and ask them to expedite validation. Third, inform the buyer that you'll only release the bike for shipping if and when the bank validates the check's authenticity. Get an estimate from your bank how long that will take, and then double it for the buyer. Don't be shy about telling him the transaction may take as long as 90 days or more to clear.
Also, if the buyer insists on going through an escrow company, don't use his. Do some research into which companies are trustworthy and insist on using the one you like the best.
Some other things you could do are: don't accept a check. Tell him you'll accept Western Union wire transfer only. Or tell him it's a cash-only transaction and make someone come hand you the cash. Perhaps require him to secure financing through a local bank (local to you, that is), so that you can receive a check from the bank directly (meaning - go to a branch to collect the check from an officer of the bank). If he's legit, this should be acceptable as he can then immediately reconcile the bank loan with a single payment. Then if he defrauds the bank, it's not your problem.
Be as strict as possible to ensure you're not being bamboozled, and be prepared for the buyer to disappear.
__________________
Rob Allen

2001 BMW K1200LTC "BatGirl"
2004 Suzuki DRZ125L
2005 Suzuki DR200 Dual Sport
2007 Yamaha TT-R 50 (for the munchkin)
Be strong enough to stand firm when you're right,
Be humble enough to admit when you're wrong,
And be wise enough to know the difference.
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links |
Advertisement
|
|
 |
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|