DUCATI reliability - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum
http://www.ducati.ms/forums
» Sponsors
» Insurance
Go Back   Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum > Ducati Motorcycle Forums > Ducati Motorcycle Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 24th, 2007, 9:24 pm   #1 (permalink)
JML

DUCATI reliability

Hi everyone,

I have a question about Ducati 999.
this is my first time looking to purchase a 999 used one, I had Japanese bikes before and I am not familiar with Italian bikes.
I like to know are these bikes reliable?
what type of service intervals? are they expensive
the one I am looking to buy has 13000 miles on it.

I also would like to know the bracket of the fixture that holds up the upper fairing should it have any imprefection like not properly debured.
should it be smooth on the edges? because the bike I have interest in buying has some quality that seemed imprefected.

Please tell me what to look for on a clean bike.

Thanks

James
JML is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old Apr 24th, 2007, 9:31 pm   #2 (permalink)

I like to know are these bikes reliable? Yes

what type of service intervals? Besides oil change/basic maintenance, the main interval is every 6k miles. Needs Valve Adjustment,

are they expensive Valve Adjustment cost $500 - $700. Everything else is about the same as modern Japanese bike. Special parts cost more though.

the one I am looking to buy has 13000 miles on it. That's just getting broken in. If the previous owner maintained the bike well, you should have no problems doubling and tripling that.

I also would like to know the bracket of the fixture that holds up the upper fairing should it have any imprefection like not properly debured.
should it be smooth on the edges? because the bike I have interest in buying has some quality that seemed imprefected. Sorry, not sure what you mean here. You have to post a picture.
angie-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24th, 2007, 9:50 pm   #3 (permalink)