Scam? - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum
http://www.ducati.ms/forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum > Ducati Motorcycle Forums > Ducati Motorcycle Chat

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 10th, 2011, 10:45 am   #1 (permalink)
Prolific Poster Award
 
bruce19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Liberty Hill (Lebanon), CT, USA
Posts: 5,906
Scam?

I posted my '02 Bayliss on Craig's List and received this inquiry. I'm thinking scam but was wondering if this looks familiar to anyone here:


Thanks for the mail, I'm seriously interested in buying this for my
son and am okay with your selling price, I'm a Petroleum Engineer and
currently offshore i really want this as a surprise gift for my son so
i won't let him know anything about this until it get delivered to him
and also this is my first time buying something online. You can mail
me back with your paypal email address so i can make the payment to
you right now and if you don't have an account with paypal you can set
up an account today as it's secured and reliable visit their website
on www.paypal.com/us ... i will be responsible for the pick up agent
payment fees/charges on this transaction. Do not worry about shipping
or picking up as my pick up agent will come and pick it up from you
once have made the payment to you and i will also need your full
Name,address and phone number because it will be needed for the pickup
arrangement I would love to speak with you through the phone but due
to my work as a Petroleum Engineer i work mainly offshore, our phone
is down on the rig right now due to bad weather, We can still
communicate through the email exchange for now. I will be looking
forward to read back from you real soon with the PayPal email address
and your full address including phone number for the pickup
arrangement.
__________________
bruce19
'05 SS1000DS
'03 Audi A4 Avant
'05 MASI Gran Criterium S
bruce19 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Oct 10th, 2011, 10:47 am   #2 (permalink)
Prolific Poster Award
 
bruce19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Liberty Hill (Lebanon), CT, USA
Posts: 5,906
Oh, and his name is "John Smith."
__________________
bruce19
'05 SS1000DS
'03 Audi A4 Avant
'05 MASI Gran Criterium S
bruce19 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10th, 2011, 10:54 am   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
edvin70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Simons Island, GA, USA
Posts: 464
Looks like a scam
__________________
2004 999S
1999 750SS BCM racer gone

Before I saw the light -
1999 ZX6R track bike
1994 CBR600F2 track bike
1993 ZX7 street
1987 FZ700 street
edvin70 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10th, 2011, 11:04 am   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Lsberrios1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: atlanta, GA, United States
Posts: 712
I wouldnt even go into that paypal website. It could be a fake website to get all your info. Dont do it. The Only way I would do it would be if the Shipping agent would bring cash money with him/her.
__________________
2000 Monster 900 Dark
2010 Streetfighter (half SF half SBK)
2008 Monster S4Rs Tricolore #197/400
2008 848 (RIP)
2007 S2R 1000 (sold)
Lsberrios1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10th, 2011, 11:09 am   #5 (permalink)
Humble
 
Chuckracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowville, NY, USA
Posts: 13,050
Images: 2
I got that same email when I was trying to sell my KTM. Common sense told me to delete and ignore it.
__________________
http://ducatieastcoastmeet.com/
Chuckracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10th, 2011, 11:13 am   #6 (permalink)
Prolific Poster Award
 
MTScott2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: petrolia, ontario, canada
Posts: 5,814
Images: 5
You should figure out a way to scam him ...
would be great fun, send them to the local cop shop to pick up the bike...
__________________
2011 Red Multistrada Touring
08 Hyper S gone but not forgotten
MTScott2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10th, 2011, 11:15 am   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
jbcaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oroville & Placerville, CA, USA
Posts: 1,520
Images: 14
he's a petroluem engineer from Lagos. just ready to bend you over
__________________
www.ducati-owners-group.com
jbcaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10th, 2011, 11:34 am   #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mukilteo, WA, USA
Posts: 4
Yeah, got a very similar email a few weeks ago when trying to sell a car. 100% scam, funny how they shy away after you demand payment of your choice... wish we could turn it around and rip them off
PowerD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10th, 2011, 1:10 pm   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
jssport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Piqua, OH, USA
Posts: 493
Images: 40
duh ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckracer View Post
I got that same email when I was trying to sell my KTM. Common sense told me to delete and ignore it.
Common sense doesn't seem that common on this list when it comes to buying / selling bikes on the internet.


How could you even possibly think this is legit ?
__________________
2003 ST4s

some other bikes too
.. and some other bikes but I sold them
jssport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10th, 2011, 2:29 pm   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
corvus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 437
I listed aprox 10 items on craigslist last month.
got that same email about 8 times.
corvus is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this a scam? Raiden HyperMotard 14 Sep 22nd, 2010 10:14 am
Possible 996 Scam!!! Mojo66 Superbikes 16 Jun 3rd, 2010 11:25 pm
Scam? johnhfish79 Superbikes 9 Dec 23rd, 2009 9:27 am
AGV Gp pro scam mega1 Superbikes 14 Feb 21st, 2007 10:22 pm

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 am.



Ducati.ms Web Community is powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Ducati Forum Harley Davidson Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6
1199 Panigale Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1
Ducati Monster Harley Forums Honda CBR250R ZX10R Forum Star Raider
Suzuki GSXR V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Kawasaki Motorcycles Star Warrior
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Honda Fury Kawasaki Versys Drag Racing
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Triumph 675 MV Agusta Forum Streetfighters